ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF THE CUBAN ECONOMY

The Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy (ASCE) is a non-political, non-partisan, professional association whose main objectives are to promote interest in the study of the Cuban economy in its broadest sense, as well as to encourage economic scholarship by its members in the furtherance of ASCE's purposes. Of special interest to ASCE is the study of economic and business development issues, legal reform, and social and environmental problems associated with the transition of Cuba to a free-market democracy. Membership is open to all scholars, teachers, students, institutions and other professional individuals interested in the study of the Cuban economy and society. ASCE was incorporated in the State of Maryland, U.S.A., on August 7, 1990. ASCE is a nonprofit corporation registered as such with the Internal Revenue Service of the United States of America. Donations and gifts are deductible for tax purposes as established under Section 509(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code. ASCE is affiliated with the American Economic Association and with the Allied Social Science Associations.

The members of the 2016–2018 Board of Directors are:

President: Helena Solo-Gabriele
Ex-Officio President: Carlos Seiglie

Treasurer: Ernesto Hernández-Catá
Secretary: Gary Maybarduk

At Large Board Members

Larry Catá Backer Roberto Orro Fernández
Sergio Díaz-Briquets Jorge Luis Romeu
Roger de la Torre Rafael Romeu
Antonio Gayoso Michael J. Strauss
Stephen Kimmerling

Committees

Conference Program: Jorge Pérez-López, Ted Henken, Lorenzo Pérez

Conference Logistics: Rafael Romeu, Joaquín P. Pujol, Mario González-Corzo, Stephen Kimmerling, Enrique Pumar

Student Papers Prize: Enrique Pumar & Mario González-Corzo

Fund-Raising: Ted Henken & Rafael Romeu

Proceedings Editor: Jorge Pérez-López, Gary Maybarduk

Hosting Committee: Ted Henken, Maria Werlau, Rafael Romeu,

María Dolores Espino, Roger de la Torre

AEA Session Coordinator: Luis Locay

Carlos Díaz-Alejandro Lecture: Carlos Seiglie Media/Press ASCE Newsclippings: Joaquín P. Pujol

Web page (http://www.ascecuba.org/): Ernesto Hernandez-Cata & Ted Henken

Blog (http://www.ascecuba.org/blog/): Luis R. Luis & Ernesto Hernández-Catá

Election Nomination: Roger Betancourt

Election Teller: Steve Escobar

Membership: Michael Strauss, Antonio Gayoso, Jorge Luis Romeu, Gary Maybarduk, Carlos Seiglie

Membership and Contact Information

Inquiries regarding the Association may be addressed to:

Ernesto Hernández-Catá, ASCE Treasurer Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy

5931 Beech Avenue Bethesda MD 20817 Email: asce@ascecuba.org Website: www.ascecuba.org

Other inquiries may be addressed to:

Helena Solo-Gabriele

Dept of Civil, Architecture and Environmental Engineering University of Miami

Coral Gables, Florida 33124 Email: hsolo@miami.edu or ascecuba@gmail.com

ASCE's fiscal year runs from January 1 through December 31. Members in good standing will receive copies of ASCE's newsletter and the *ASCE Newsclippings*, an email reproducing the latest news published on economic, social and political developments related to Cuba.

Annual membership fees are:

Regular Members

Contributors
Sponsors
Benefactors
Students

Above \$90 and up to \$200 Above \$200 and up to \$350 Above \$350 US\$25

To become a member of ASCE, please submit a payment to ASCE in the amount required for the type of membership desired, together with the following information:

- Name
- Occupation and title
- Home and business address (please indicate preferred mailing address)
- Home and business telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email address

Membership information and payments can be transmitted one of two ways:

- Via On-line application with an option to pay via PayPal at: http://www.ascecuba.org/ (Click the "Membership" Tab and "Apply Now").
- Sending the information above plus a check to: Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy, Treasurer, 5931 Beech Avenue, Bethesda MD 20817

\$90

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The Board of Directors of ASCE wishes to acknowledge the continuing financial support provided to the activities of the Association by the following sponsoring members:

Benefactors

The Christopher Reynolds Foundation Roger R. Betancourt Ernesto Hernández-Catá Roger de la Torre Paul M. Meo Jorge A. Sanguinetty

Sponsors

Alfredo D. Gutiérrez Armando S. Linde Luis Locay Luis R. Luis Lorenzo Pérez Jorge F. Pérez-López Joaquín P. Pujol Rubén A. Roca Roberto E. Silva

Contributing Members

José Alonso
José Alvarez
Roger Even Bove
James Casey
Saul Cimler
Mario Roque de Escobar
Oilda del Castillo
Gabriel A. Ferrer
Guillermo G. Mármol
Nicolai O'Connor
Roberto Orro Fernández
Carlos Seiglie
Maricio Solaún
José Suárez

Benefactors: Annual Contribution of US\$351 and above Sponsors: Annual Contribution of US\$201 to US\$350 Contributing Members: Above \$90 and up to \$200